Cars today are safer than ever before thanks to constantly advancing technologies. However, car accidents still occur every single day. In Alaska, on average, about 80 people lose their lives annually due to fatal auto crashes, according to the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services. The average driver in America will be faced with approximately three to four car accidents in their driving career.
In 2018, there were close to 3 million people injured in automobile accidents across the United States according to information provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Approximately 1.35 million people across the globe lose their lives in auto collisions each year, and about 3,700 are killed per day due to fatal traffic accidents. Traffic accidents are the leading cause of death among young people, aged 5 to 29.
An accident that takes seconds to occur can impact your life for weeks, months, or years to come. Due to accidents happening so quickly, accident victims are left with little to no reaction time. Making the right choices in the minutes, days, and weeks that follow a collision can help to minimize stress and confusion during the aftermath of a crash, as well as maximize financial compensation.
Steps to Follow after Involvement in an Alaska Car Accident
Here are some steps to take after involvement in an Alaska car crash. These steps can help lessen stress and anxiety, ensure your health and safety are protected and assist you in finding the proper legal help for your personal situation.
- Check for injuries and dial 911. If you’ve been involved in an Alaska car accident, it is the law in the Last Frontier that the crash must be reported to police. You must also remain at the crash scene until the authorities arrive. It is important to check yourself and any others for injuries and report them to police and paramedics as they arrive. Exchange the necessary information with any other parties involved in the crash, and allow paramedics to check you over. If they find no severe injuries, make sure to follow up with your doctor, especially if you plan to file a personal injury claim.
- Collect Evidence: A property damage or personal injury claim can vary depending on what happens in the moments after the wreck occurs. Evidence collected from the crash scene can serve as support for your incurred damages. If possible, collect evidence that shows who was at fault in the accident. Damages can include medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more. If any witnesses were present, ask them what they saw and write it down.
- Call your insurance company. Purchasing car insurance means that you’re entering into a contract with the company. That contract always states that you must notify your insurance company when you’re involved in an accident.
- Alaska is a Third Party Liability State. This means that a negligent driver can be held accountable for any personal injuries or property damage they may have caused in an accident. In the event that you’ve been injured or your vehicle has been damaged by a negligent party, you can file a property damage/personal injury claim with your insurance company as well as the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
- Understanding Alaska’s Car Insurance Requirements. The minimum amounts of car insurance coverage accepted in Alaska are as follows:
- $50K per injury per person in an accident.
- $100K per injury to multiple people in an accident.
- $25K for property damage in an accident.
In the event that you plan to file a personal injury claim against a negligent party after an Alaska car accident, it is in your best interest to contact a skilled and experienced Alaska personal injury lawyer. The Law Office of Jason Skala in Alaska has successfully handled numerous Alaska car accident cases and assisted injured accident victims and their families recover from arduous accident aftermaths for many years.
If you believe that your injuries were caused due to the negligent actions of another person, contact our law firm today at 1-907-569-6633 in order to speak with an attorney about your case.