Car Insurance Requirements in Alaska
April 12, 2022
In order to be considered a legal driver in most states, you must carry valid car insurance for your vehicle. In Alaska, the law is no different. Drivers in the Last Frontier must carry valid and up-to-date proof of insurance that shows that you are carrying, at the least, the minimum insurance coverage required. Generally speaking, proof of insurance is usually a document you keep in your wallet or vehicle proving that the car you’re driving is insured. Liability insurance coverage can differ from state to state, but car insurance is required in order to legally operate a motor vehicle in every US state besides New Hampshire. This document, either electronic or printed, must be shown to law enforcement if requested.
Below we have listed Alaska’s car insurance requirements:
$15,000/personal injury per individual
$30,000/personal injury per accident
$10,000/property damage per crash
Minimum Liability Coverage: 50/100/25: These are the dollar amounts, in thousands, intended for auto liability coverage. The first number, 50, or $50,000, is the amount available for bodily liability coverage in the event that you have injured or killed someone in an accident. The second number, 100 or $100,000, is the total amount available for all injuries or deaths you may have caused in a crash. The third number is the amount available for property damage you may have caused.
It is important to consider that those who lease or finance a vehicle may owe additional fees in the event of an accident.
Alaska’s Liability Coverage
The only coverage legally required in the Last Frontier, liability coverage, covers things like the other driver’s injuries and lost wages in the event that you have caused an accident and ultimately caused someone else’s injuries. Liability coverage also covers the cost of damage to the other vehicle involved in your accident. Your own liability coverage will never pay for your own injuries or property damage.
State-Mandated Insurance Coverage Limits
In order to still be a legal driver in Alaska while carrying the bare minimum insurance coverage, you must abide by the state-mandated car insurance limits. In the event of a personal injury claim, these limits are the most an insurance company will pay. Liability limits are usually put into three categories: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage per accident.
Bodily injury per person is the highest amount an insurance company will offer for one person’s injuries in an accident that you caused.
Bodily Injury coverage per crash is the highest amount that your insurance company will pay for any/all injuries you may have caused in a crash.
Property damage per crash: is the maximum monetary amount offered for damage to property caused by you.
The numbers reflected above, 50/100/25, are the minimum insurance limits needed in Alaska to be considered a legal driver. With most insurance companies, higher coverage amounts are available.
In the unfortunate event that you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident in Anchorage caused by the negligence, carelessness, or recklessness of another person, call the Law Office of Jason Skala at your earliest convenience. A successful personal injury law firm in Anchorage, the Law Office of Jason Skala has been diligently working on behalf of our clients for over a decade. We work to ensure that our clients’ legal rights are protected and exercised in the event that they have suffered injuries and/or losses due to someone else’s negligent actions. Insurance is carried in order to be able to help another person in the unfortunate event that we cause someone else’s injuries or loss.
Allow an Anchorage personal injury attorney to negotiate a full and fair financial compensation amount from the opposing driver’s insurance company so that you will be able to move on as swiftly as possible from your recent crash. Insurance companies are not easy to deal with, especially when they know that you are owed money. A lawyer knows how to navigate the choppy waters of personal injury litigation. Allow an experienced attorney to help you by calling 907-569-6633 in the event that you or someone you love has suffered injuries and/or losses due to an Anchorage car crash or another type of accident.